The LUCIE awards

October 15th, 2007
Avery Fisher Hall,
Lincoln Center, New York City

HOST: Lili Taylor

6 p.m. drinks reception
7 p.m. show
9:30 dinner (ticket holders only)

The Lucie Awards 2007 Honorees

Elliott Erwitt

Lifetime Achievement

Ralph Gibson

Achievement in Fine Art

Philip Jones Griffiths

Achievement in Photojournalism

Kenro Izu

Visionary Award

Heinz Kluetmeier

Achievement in Sports

Eugene Richards

Achievement in Documentary

Lord Snowdon

Achievement in Portraiture

Deborah Turbeville

Achievement in Fashion

Howard Zieff

Achievement in Advertising

IPA will announce the top winners from the annual competition The top three awards:

International Photographer of the Year (professional photographers only)
Presented by AtEdge

The winner:

Massimo Mastrorillo-- Italy

The nominees:

Michael Bednar-- Canada

David Bowman-- United States

Sebastian Copeland-- United States

George Logan-- United Kingdom

Josef Hoflehner-- Austria

Massimo Mastrorillo-- Italy

Ted Sabarese-- United States

Rainer Viertlboeck - Germany

Discovery of the Year
(non-professional and students only)
Presented by Pilsner Urquell

The winner:

Larry Louie-- Canada

The nominees:

Mitch Dobrowner-- United States

Oleg Duryagin-- Russia

Lung Liu-- Canada

Larry Louie-- Canada

Garrett Priddy-- United States

Kimo Proudfoot--United States

Levi Van Veluw-- Netherlands


Deeper Perspective Photographer of the Year (both professional and non-professional photographers)
Presented by Pilsner Urquell

The winner:

Charlie Crane-- United Kingdom

The nominees:

Chris Anthony-- United States

Charlie Crane-- United Kingdom

Lauren Greenfield-- United States

Penny Klepuszewska-- United Kingdom

Craig Payne-- United States


IPA awards Lucies to those in the creative community who are an integral part of crafting an image. The IPA members and Photographers Advisory Board have nominated the following individuals:

Picture Editor of the Year : James K. Colton

James K. Colton – Sports Illustrated
Brett Ramey – Interview
Kathy Ryan – New York Times Magazine
Krista Prestek - GQ
Daniel R. Westergren - National Geographic Traveler

Print Advertising Campaign of the Year: Ogilvy and Mather | Chicago

Ogivly and Mather | Chicago | Client: Dove - Campaign - Pro Age

DDB | Italy | Client: Volkswagen - Campaign - Educated Horses

TBWA Chiat Day | New York | Client - Snickers - Campaign - Mr. Caramone

Saatchi and Saatchi | New York | Client - Proctor and Gamble - Campaign - Soy Sauce

Fashion Layout of the Year:Harper's Bazaar, Metallic Moments, Peter Lindbergh

W – Stefano and Domenico’s Dolce Vita by Steven Klein
Blackbook - Raising the Bar by Larry Fink
Vanity Fair – Blame It On Brazil by Mario Testino

Harper’s BazaarBazaar and Klein by William Klein
Harper’s Bazaar Metallic Moment by Peter Lindbergh
Harper’s BazaarThey Tried to Make Me Go To Rehab by Peter Lindbergh

Photography Curator/Exhibition of the Year: Brett Abbott for Edward Weston's Enduring Vision

Andreas Gursky curated by Thomas Weski
Turkey by Magnum curated by Engin Ozendes and Diane Dufour (Istanbul Modern)
Jeff Wall curated by Peter Galassi ( MOMA, New York)
Rankin Eye Candy curated by David Fahey (Fahey/Klein, Los Angeles)
Edward Weston - Enduring Vision curated by Brett Abbott (Getty, Los Angeles)
The Art of Lee Miller – Curated by Mark Haworth-Booth (Victoria and Albert Museum, London)

Book Publisher of the Year:Powerhouse Books - Darfur:Twenty Years of War and Genocide

21st Editions - The Odes of Pindar – photography by Greg Gorman
Verso Limited Editions – Magnum Founders In Celebration of 60 Years
TeNeues – Elliott Erwitt- Unseen
Aperture, co-published by Chris Boot and World Press Photo - Things as They Are: Photojournalism in Context Since 1955
Twin Palm Publishers - The Adventures of Constantine Cavafy – Duane Michals
Powerhouse Books – Darfur: Twenty Years of War and Genocide

Photography Magazine of the Year:AMerican Photo

Photo District News - USA
American Photo - USA
Nueva Luz - USA
Aperture - USA
Foto8 – United Kingdom
Zoom - Italy